The Nordic Society for Middle Eastern Studies MA-Thesis Award

2020/21 Call for submissions

The Nordic Society for Middle Eastern Studies announces the first annual MA-thesis award for the best MA thesis on a topic related to the Middle East submitted at a Nordic educational institution. All students submitting their thesis between 14 August 2020 and 15 August 2021 are eligible for the award. The thesis must be nominated by the supervisor, and will be read by a three-member committee.  

The thesis must be written on a topic related to the Middle East region, including North Africa, Iran, Turkey and the Arabian Peninsula. The thesis must be submitted at an educational institution in one of the Nordic countries (Iceland, Norway, Sweden, Finland and Denmark) and written in English, Norwegian, Swedish or Danish. The application must include the following, in one single PDF:

  1. A completed submission form (found here)
  2. A letter of recommendation from the thesis supervisor
  3. A digital copy of the thesis
  4. Copy of the certificate of completed Master’s degree. If this is not issued at the time of submission a confirmation of submitted thesis should be included instead, and the certificate shall be sent after issuance

Deadline for submissions is September 15 2021. The winner of the first NSMES MA-Thesis award will be announced in February 2022. The winner will receive a certificate and a token of achievement. The application should be sent to with a copy to and

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software